Weigh in: What kind of Reader are you?

My adorable sister is visiting right now with her 5 adorable children.

It has been awesome to bounce book ideas off of them to see what they prefer when it comes to their literature.

ANYWAY… yesterday, my sister did something that got me thinking. She started reading The Hunger Games as an easy summer read (she is 35 after all) and she kept telling me, “I just want to know what happens! I think I’m going to skip to the end.” I told her NO, she would regret it! It would ruin the book experience for her.

Well, late last night I got a text (we were in different rooms of the same house, haha) and it said, “I hate myself, I read the last line of the book!” If you have read The Hunger Games, you know that the last line gives away a lot.

She was way bummed, to say the least. And I got to dance to the ‘I Told You So’ song.

Like I said, it got me thinking. I personally cannot and will not read past the page that I am on. It ruins everything for me and I refuse to read the book after it is ruined. (Same goes for movies and TV shows). I HATE spoilers! However, I have a dear friend, who HAS to read ahead or else the reading experience isn’t fun for her. She reads all about the next episode of TV shows before they air and she reads about the endings of movies. This is how she gets the most out of the experience. But with books more than anything else, I always find her on the last page before she has started the book. And it makes me feel itchy!

So my question is: What kind of reader are you? Are you a spoiler-free reader, or a read-ahead reader?

Weigh in.

11 thoughts on “Weigh in: What kind of Reader are you?

  1. I do not read ahead in books as a rule EXCEPT unless I know it’s supposed to be a sad book. I don’t like to feel uncontrollable sadness, so I will flip around and skim portions of a book to figure out what the sad part is before I get there, just to prep myself. I did this for The Time Traveler’s Wife, for example.

  2. Omigosh, I could not read the ending first! It makes me crazy when people tell me the ending of a book before I get there. The kids in my son’s fifth grade class do this to each other all the time and I just want to muzzle them! Part of the pleasure for me is the building anticipation as the story unfolds. If you already know the ending, there’s no buildup, nothing to look forward to at the end.

  3. When I was younger, I loved to read the last page of a book. It felt so, well, naughty. Then, being caught a time or two with knowing the surprise ending, I swore off reading ahead. You couldn’t make me do it now. BTW, loved “Time Traveler’s Wife,” but didn’t like the movie. Book = romantic and imaginative. Movie = creepy. Did you read it Bree?

    • I have not read it…I’ve never been one for romance. I prefer zombies, quirky kids, and the end of the world. Haha.

  4. What a great post! Personally, I have always waited until the end for the ending. I like to savor all of the ideas and guesses that come to mind as I go along, so that I am either surprised in the end, or self-satisfied with my foresight. I don’t like spoilers, and really am not fond of those that often feel it necessary to ruin the ending for others.

  5. I started itching just reading this post thinking about skipping ahead or to the end. The thought of it gives me the heebie jeebies! That’s like opening all your gifts before your birthday and then rewrapping them and opening them again. No way. No jumpsies for me.

  6. I try hard not to read ahead because it can really spoil the experience. I tried reading ‘The Princetta’. The beginning was great. But, I decided to flip to the last page to read the author’s bio. On the opposite page I find that my favorite character died! (I find that a lot of my favorite characters die at the end, even in movie.) Anyway, I just couldn’t read the rest. Now, I’ll never flip to the back of the book, not even to read about the author.

  7. As a kid, I used to peek to the end more often. Now I try not to unless I’m close to the end, I can’t force my eyes open another second, and I can’t wait to find out what happens. I don’t do it very often.

Leave a Reply

