Yet another ARC giveaway…

Okay. This one is a hard one for me. I wanted to keep this ARC all for myself like a naughty, selfish girl. But who am I kidding, I don’t have time to read anything outside of incoming manuscripts. Therefore…I have broken it out of the vault (the box of BEA books under my bed) and I am hosting another ARC giveaway contest!

And the ARC, you ask? Which ARC did I desperately want to hold onto all for myself??

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger. Release date: September 2010.

“Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “Duffy,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.”

So here’s how you enter to win:

Follow these blogs…they are wonderful!

1. http://everydayintensity.com/

2. http://www.taranormal.com/

3. http://joannahaugen.com/blog/

4. http://lisarivero.com/

5. http://www.nikkikatz.com/

6. http://renaemercado.blogspot.com/

7. http://literaryasylum.blogspot.com/

8. http://ketch1714.wordpress.com/

BUT that is just preliminary work. The real contest starts here:

In the comments section name (1) the actor/actress you would choose to play your main character in your manuscript or WIP & why (2) The theme song to your manuscript or WIP, (3) if you could co-author a book with any already published author, who would it be & why?

The contest will end on June 30th. Have fun!!

16 thoughts on “Yet another ARC giveaway…

  1. The actress I’d choose to play my MC in ON A SCALE OF ONE TO TEN would be Ann Hathaway.
    The music to same would have to be ONE EYED PURPLE PEOPLE EATER since A.J. thinks she’s surrounded by Aliens.
    And I’d love to co-author a book with James Patterson since everything he puts his name on turns best seller.

  2. Whew–you run some hard contests! I think I’m now subscribed to all the above blogs. #1) Emily Browning (Australian actress) because she has to look innocent but have an edge to her.

    #2) Defying Gravity because my MC is literally doing so in the story – plus, the song adds a little lightness to a dark plot.

    #3) This answer will likely disqualify me, but the only person I’d love to co-author a book with is Joss Whedon (and I don’t think he’s actually had a book published.) But he’s a complete genius. Just sayin.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Yet another ARC giveaway… | this literary life -- Topsy.com

  4. This is too much fun, I just couldn’t help throwing in my thoughts. : )
    1. Let’s see, the actress should be Molly C. Quinn from the TV show “Castle”.
    2. Honestly OK by Dido.
    3. Now, this is a hard one, but I think I would want to co-author with Dan Brown. I love the detail research he does for his novels and his writing is so well done, you can hardly tell it’s fiction.

  5. Pingback: Yet another ARC giveaway… (via this literary life) « Ketch Tavern

  6. Okay, the MC for REVENGE OF THE PINK GRANNY PANTIES has to be played by this kid, Randy Shelly. He has the perfect “every boy” look, yet he’s cute enough to make girls drool. And his hair is pretty Josh Bieberish. He’s a little old, but Chuck plays basketball, so height is good . . .

    Theme song: “Duel” by Bond. That was the song I rocked out to whenever I wrote an action scene. For the movie, it’d probably have to be “Why Can’t We Be Friends.”

    Jerry Spenelli is the co-author of my dreams. I’ve met him, and he’s so laid back and funny . . . with a couple of Newberrys under his belt to boot. Other fine choices would be Sara Weeks (REGULAR GUY), Carol Gorman (Lizard Flanagan and Dork fame) or Judy Blume, if she’s feeling bored :)

    I’m still working on following that bloglist. Can anyone clue me in on how to follow when there are no “follow” buttons? Does following on twitter count?

    Thanks for the great contest, Bree!

    • Those blogs should each have a follow or subscribe link, if they don’t…tsk tsk my naughty clients! If you can’t find one then just check out their awesome blogs every once in awhile. That’s good enough for me.

  7. 1. The actor I would choose to play Alex from my current WIP would be either Logan Lorman (Percy Jackson) or Daniel Radcliffe.

    2. The theme song would definitely be “Cat and Mouse” by Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

    3. I’ve always wanted to co-author with Christopher Paolini. But my DREAM authors would be Stephenie Meyer or J.K. Rowling (NOT happening!).

  8. Done! All blogs have been subscribed too!!

    This is so awesome!!!! I CANNOT wait to read The Duff…so winning an ARC would be so so cool!!

    Okay, my debut was just released two weeks ago- A Bitch Named Karma. My MC would be played by Rebecca Budding….because, well…she plays a really good Bitch! But she can be sweet and caring too! Theme song- It’s My Life by No Doubt! And the author I’d love to co-author with, without a doubt, Ann Brashares….love love love her! I can’t help but love her characters and feel like they are my friends!!

  9. (1) the actor/actress you would choose to play your main character in your manuscript or WIP & why:

    Tammin Sursock, because physically, she looks the most like what I envision my character to be, and also because she has just the right balance of snarky-trouble maker and good girl to her- perfect! :)

    (2) The theme song to your manuscript or WIP,

    ELEPHANT by: DAMIEN RICE

    (3) if you could co-author a book with any already published author, who would it be & why?

    Hands down, Megan McCafferty. I adore her writing, she has inspired me so much and I would love love love to work with her!

  10. Wow, love the sound of DUFF.

    1. This is a difficult one, because I try so hard to create a character that hasn’t been influenced by another character I’ve seen on TV/movies. But…if I had to pick someone, I think I’d pick a teenaged version of Kate Beckinsale. Because she has that every-girl look.

    2. Theme song: Possibility by Lykke Li

    3. Co-author: Suzanne Collins, because she’s brilliant.

  11. 1. My main character IS Chace Crawford (Nate) from Gossip Girl. I walked past the TV one evening and saw this actor who I’d never heard of before and said, “That’s my main character.”

    2. Song – “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” The IZ version and the Judy Garland one. My characters sing it in the story.

    3. I’d pen a book with Nora Roberts. I’m dying to write a steamy sex scene, but I’m too embarrassed for anyone to know. This way I could say she wrote it.

  12. 1) I don’t think there’s an actress that resembles my main character but the closest I can think of is a mix between Emma Watson & Ashley Greene.
    2) London Calling – The Clash
    3) Probably Patricia Briggs because she’s an amazing worldbuilder and has a lot of experience.

Leave a Reply

