ARC Giveaway…JANE by April Lindner

[tweetmeme source=”breeogden” only_single=false]

Because the Glorious 4th was Charlotte Brontë’s favorite holiday (total lie, well I’m pretty sure it’s a lie, she was English after all.) I thought I would celebrate one of my favorite Brontës AND the 4th of July in one fell swoop. And to do this…I shall host another ARC giveaway. And the ARC is…

Jane by April Lindner:

“Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance.

But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?

An irresistible romance interwoven with a darkly engrossing mystery, this contemporary retelling of the beloved classic Jane Eyre promises to enchant a new generation of readers.”

Release date: …yea that’s right. October!

Here is how you enter to win:

1. Tell me who you believe is a pioneer of literature.

2. Give me your opinion on modern retellings of classic works of literature. Be as honest as you’d like.

3. Would you rather be the modern JANE or the classic Jane? Why?

**And if you Tweet this, Facebook it, or share it on your blog…I’ll probably like you a lot…and who I like, my ARCs like. ::wicked smile::

The contest will end on July 11th. As always, have fun with these answers. Be creative!!

And HAPPY 4th!!!

24 thoughts on “ARC Giveaway…JANE by April Lindner

  1. As I won THE DUFF ARC in your last contest and have an ARC of MATCHED on its way to me, I won’t enter this one. I’ll definitely Facebook it and blog about it though — the post will go up on our Contest Monday post on the 5th! Thanks, Bree!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention ARC Giveaway…JANE by April Lindner | this literary life -- Topsy.com

  3. Pioneer of literature…Charles Schultz! I love how he could be honest and not get tripped up over who would like what.

    As for retellings of classics, I like them as long as it doesn’t get carried away with the modern stuff. I’m a bit traditional, I guess.

    I’d like to be a classic Jane…I like my showers!

    I tweeted!

  4. Pioneer of Literature is Edgar Allan Poe. He’s the father of mysteries and they’re my favorite genre to read and write. I loved how he constantly increase the suspense in his stories while retaining a lyrical quality to his words.

    I like the retelling of the classics as long as they keep the magic of the original.

    A modern Jane because I like being able to edit my writing on a computer. :)

    I tweeted the contest.

  5. For me, I’d say that Charlotte Bronte is a pioneer of literature (which is pretty fitting given the nature of this contest). She might not get as much love from the fan community as Jane Austen, but I tend to like her a lot more. Her novel, Jane Eyre has been said to form THE structure of the romance genre, where a young woman has to chose between one of the two men competing for her heart. I’m not a big romance novel reader, but that’s pretty big news. This novel also is the basis for Rebecca by Daphne DeMaurier, which is also a great favorite of mine.

    I haven’t read many novels that are retellings of Classic literature. (Though I have read a lot of the Classics themselves). The ones that I have, like A Farewell To Arms, which plays off of Shakespeare’s Romeo And Juliet is now a classic itself, and Jane Slayre, which just came out this year. I’m a big fan of Jane Eyre, and I have to admit that Sherri Browning Erwin really worked with what Bronte wrote in a loving way, often making the monster additions in a fairly seamless way. If anything could have been improved, it would have to be the names of the vampire and werewolf killing inventions. As you can, I’m a fan of what I’ve read and am looking forward to checking out others, like Jane.

    It’s hard to say whether I’d want to be the Classic or the modern Jane, but I can’t say that being the employee of a brooding musician is really that appealing, so likely the classic Jane would be more up my alley.

    I tweeted your contest here: http://twitter.com/YABookShelf/status/17662806393

  6. 1. A pioneer in literature would be the female writers such as Jane Austen and any of the Brontes. They dared to do what others would not.
    2. I like retellings depending upon the retelling.
    3. I am partial to the old Jane, but I would have to read the new one to make an informed choice.
    4. I tweeted this and will put your link on my giveaway page

  7. For me, the pioneer of literature is Jane Austen.
    I haven’t really read that many modern retellings of classical novels, if you don’t include those that are some how related to the classic novel e.g. the Confessions of a Jane Austen addict, Bridget Jones’s Diary etc. I have really liked the ones I have read. What I have disliked more are the ones that I have read which are like sequels to the classic story, or the ones that tell the story with a different type of twist (e.g. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies).
    I would be classic Jane because then I would get the classic Rochester, who is just amazing! ;D But being a modern Jane with a modern Rochester wouldn’t be that bad either.

    I linked the contest to my blog’s facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/ReadReadRead/134431476577872?ref=ts

    milkareads[at]yahoo[dot]com

  8. A pioneer of literature? Geez, since I quit reading “literature” when I graduated from college nearly 16 years ago, that’s a tough one. I’d probably have to agree about it being the first published female writers, like the Brontes and Jane Austen. (I’m sure I don’t have to tell you the Brontes were all published under male names because women didn’t write books … What were their pen names? Ellis, Currer and Acton Bell?)

    On retellings: I guess it depends on the story and how much I loved the original and how close the retelling sticks to the plot. If it adds a new dimension, then great. But if it’s the same exact story, just updated for the new millennium, then forget it. “Clueless” was a fun update of Austen’s “Emma.” (It’s almost like remaking classic movies — did they need to remake “The Karate Kid”?) I’m intrigued by stories that expand on the classics, like “Wide Sargasso Sea,” which tells the story of Rochester and his first wife; or “H,” the one that tells what Heathcliff was doing in the years he was missing from “Wuthering Heights.” And this update of “Jane Eyre” sounds great!

    I think I’d rather be modern Jane. More options (and fewer clothes!).

    I’ll RT your giveaway, too. Look at @arlenewrites (my writing account) and @kyree90 (the one that has more followers).

  9. I’m going with Dickens as a lit. pioneer. Although a complete Austen and Bronte freak, we don’t say, “What the Austen?” We say, “What the Dickens?” (Yeah, deep, I know.)

    Ah, retellings. I usually enjoy them, and would love to write one (Prada and Prejudice, anyone?) In fact, when I saw this book, I wished I’d written it. Books like Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters crack me up (well, the trailer anyway, haven’t actually read it.) But I love the originals, esp. Jane Eyre.

    I would not want to have been the original Jane. As hot as Mr. Rochester is, to have been through Aunt Reed and Lowood School for him . . . methinks not. I’m dying to see what this new book’s “lunatic wife” is.

    I shall now blog and tweet this!

  10. Hey Bree! I’m back from Williamsburg – might have even seen a ghost while I was there (posted on Ketch Tavern) . Great Contest! I’ll be posting this later in the week.

  11. Pingback: Everyone Loves Success Stories! « Lisa Rivero: The Wild Thyme Unseen

  12. Pingback: ARC Giveaway…(via this literary life) « Ketch Tavern

  13. I love love love Jane Eyre, so I have to go with Charlotte Bronte as my lit. pioneer. Jane Austen gets a close second.

    I’ve never read any obvious retellings before, but aren’t all stories retellings of something? A love story is a love story. Some are just better written.

    I want to be a modern Jane (for practical reasons like air conditioning and computers.)

  14. 1. Tell me who you believe is a pioneer of literature.
    Jane Austen

    2. Give me your opinion on modern retellings of classic works of literature. Be as honest as you’d like.
    I enjoy modern retellings, but honestly, quite a few of them are poor versions of the classic. Some books just should not be redone.

    3. Would you rather be the modern JANE or the classic Jane? Why?
    I think I would want to be modern Jane…for obvious reasons like modern conveniences and the guy is a rock star :)

  15. 1. Stephanie Meyer…JUST KIDDING! Initially I thought of Sharon Creech or Jerry Spinelli, but I’ve decided to go with someone even more contemporary: Gennifer Choldenko. My frustration with most of the teen and adult fiction these days is the poor writing and lack of any sort of moral, i.e. let’s go rave like it’s 1993, and I irrevocably irrevocably irrevocably love you (we get it, you’ve taught the youth a new word). I find most of the literary gold in children’s/young adult books like Al Capone Does My Shirts, where not only can the reader enjoy the journey and the story, but we also learn a few morals, think a few intelligent thoughts and enjoy good writing. Being a pioneer isn’t always about exploring completely new things, it’s also about doing things well (so there’s a good trail left for others to travel) and making old things (like Alcatraz) new again. So who is a (modern) pioneer of literature? Gennifer Choldenko.
    2. The world is obviously going into the apocalypse because we’ve all run out of ideas. TRON 2? Really? Pride and Prejudice and Zombies? At first I wanted to hate remakes because I’ve been craving something original, but the truth is- I’m totally going to see the new TRON movie, and I could really get into a modern Jane Eyre (especially considering that Jane Eyre is one of my all time favorite books). Nothing’s original, so my opinion on modern retellings is going to be based on the same factors that I judge any literature- is it well written, thought out, clever etc? I think could potentially enjoy any kind of book that isn’t just trying to soak me in sex and hipness soup.
    3. I would much rather be classic Jane because even though life may have been dreadful in earlier times (especially in the beginning of Jane Eyre), dreadful things always make good things seem a lot more wonderful. Romance, being a gentlemen, honor, patience- these all meant different and greater things than they do now. Yes, in a modern Jane Eyre, life would hopefully be without such abusive orphanages, sickness, death, marital traps and duties to honor. But a modern tale would more than likely also have more selfishness and impropriety, and less patience, lesson learning and reward (a reward is always greater when it has been earned with trial). Would I rather experience what the old Jane experienced? No. But would I prefer the reward the old Jane received? Yes, because as I said, rewards are always greater when earned after hardship.

    Cool contest- made me think :)

  16. When I think of literary pioneers, I always think of Anne Bronte and George Eliot (Mary Ann Evans). I wrote my thesis on these two women who were contemporaries, though they never met, and wrote so stridently and beautifully about women and their lives and the choices they were and were not allowed to make. I love them.

    As far as modern retellings of classics go, I tend toward the fairy tale end of the spectrum and I love them when they are well done. A la Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY, DEERSKIN, and ROSE DAUGHTER and Juliet Marillier’s DAUGHTER OF THE FOREST. The author handily embellishes or alters the story to enhance characterization and add new levels of meaning to the original tale.

    And modern Jane, thank you very much. I would not have done well way back then. In so many different ways.

    Thanks for the wonderful giveaway! I cannot wait to read this one.

  17. Jane Austen is someone who I think has been a pioneer of literature, as several above me have stated.

    I often enjoy remakes, but sometimes I think they go too far. I still can’t bring myself to read P&P&Zombies.

    I think I’d rather be the classic Jane. But I’ll have to see what being the modern Jane includes to make my decision! ;)

  18. I think an awesome pioneer of literature is Shel Silverstein. I know, I know, you think poet, right? Shel is awesome because he had a memorable writing career creating poetry anthologies for children that are timeless and I hope will be around forever. As a kid, Shel made us love poetry with his way with words and funky illustrations, but he also expanded his writing career to other areas including writing articles for Playboy magazine, songs, and cartoons. He penned the song “A Boy Names Sue,” which was performed by the man in black, Johnny Cash. In the end, Shel did something simple, yet remarkable and spawned generations of “Giving Tree” lovers who wanted to see “Where the Sidewalk Ends” and find “A Light in the Attic.”

    I like the modern retellings of late because it sparks new interest in the classic. It also gives the “old” story a new twist and shakes it up, even for me, who likes to read the classics. I loved “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” because it is neat that an author can give Elizabeth and her sisters something else to do besides embroider pin cushions and drink tea in the sitting room. It may not be the literary masterpiece we want it to be, but it is refreshing to read.

    I would love to be the classic Jane because I am dearly in love with Mr. Rochester and Jane is a lovely character who grows and changes. She may struggle in the beginning, but in the end, she gets the rewards she deserves and did I mention I am in love with Mr. Rochester??? :D

    Thank you so much for hosting the contest! I can’t wait to read this!

  19. Pingback: Twitted by mrswritebrain

  20. 1. Tell me who you believe is a pioneer of literature.

    I have to go with Jane Austen on this one. I think she really paved the way for the many female storytellers who followed in her footsteps and her works are probably more popular today than in her own day. Who else can say that?

    2. Give me your opinion on modern retellings of classic works of literature. Be as honest as you’d like.

    As long as they are done well and don’t make a mockery of the original works, I’m all for them.

    3. Would you rather be the modern JANE or the classic Jane? Why?

    I’m not sure I have a preference. I always considered myself kind of old-fashioned, so I could be the classic Jane. But then, I’ve learned to adapt well to whatever life throws at me, so I could be the modern Jane, too. Maybe I could take turns being both?

    Tweeted: http://twitter.com/Margay/status/18292580126

    Facebooked: http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/MargayLeahJustice

    Margay

  21. Pingback: Tweets that mention ARC Giveaway…JANE by April Lindner | this literary life -- Topsy.com

  22. Wonderful!

    In my mind, one of my favorite literature pioneers has to be Tamora Pierce for writing the amazing Alanna series. Not only did she introduce (years ago) a strong YA female lead, but she allows her to grow up, make bad choices, make good choices, face terrible villains, get with different guys and still remain one of the most believable characters ever.

    I tend to enjoy retellings but mainly when they are in period. Especially fairytale retellings – like McKinley’s BEAUTY. Perhaps it cause I haven’t read many good modern retellings (suggestions anyone?) but I tend to like McKinley and Marillier most.

    Modern Jane!! I don’t think I’d deal well without my email and grocery around the corner offering all night access.

    Thanks again! mmillet at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

