Naughty Query: Tip #3

This tip actually comes in handy after you have written the query. After you have sent the query. After you have sweated and waited… weeks, maybe months. After you have gotten a reply from the agent, and that reply is a rejection.

This past weekend I was at the wonderful Southern California Writers’ Conference at which I sat on an agent’s panel and answered some questions about the query process. During the panel, one of the agents said (roughly paraphrased) “After we have rejected you, please resist that urge to fire off a really nasty reply to us. Agents are people too, we have feelings too.”

I’ve dealt with my fair share of irate replies after a rejection letter, but for some reason I thought I deserved it, and I tried to empathize with the writer. But I think this particular agent made a really great point. And so tip #3 is to resist the fuming reply after a rejection.

5 thoughts on “Naughty Query: Tip #3

  1. It makes me sad to hear this happens. I can’t say it enough… aspiring authors, if you are going to reply EVER… Please do as follows: copy/paste “thank you for your time and consideration.”

    Nothing more. Got it? And specifically don’t send any “irate” crap to Bree. I will TP your house. Seriously. I’m “wanted” in at least three Michigan counties for my teenage shenanigans.

  2. The three ‘P’s apply here. Patience, Perseverance, and Professionalism. These are a writer’s best friends. I try to get this across to all novices trying to make a living in this industry. There is a plus side to this, though. I read horror stories concerning the writer’s antics ‘after’ the contract is signed. I imagine a sigh of relief passes an agent’s lips after they receive these responses. So, if this should happen to you, Bree, then I’m teaming up with Kate. =}

  3. DRAFT:

    “After we have rejected you, please resist that urge to fire off a really nasty reply to us. Agents are people too, we have feelings too.”

    REVISION:

    “After we have determined that we are not the right agent for you, please resist that urge to fire off a really nasty reply to us. Agents are people too, we have feelings too.”

    Much better, mm?

  4. Good day!This was a really quality blog!
    I come from endland, I was fortunate to search your website in bing
    Also I obtain a lot in your website really thanks very much i will come every day

Leave a Reply

