The world needs people who’ve come alive!

Before I begin. Watch this trailer:

Are we feeling the gravity of the world that we are a part of? I’m not talking about this universe (or multiverse, according to the geek Bree that I am), I am talking about the publishing industry. The literary world. Are we understanding the GRAVITY of this beautiful world that we are a part of?

Recently I have had the pleasure of sitting down for a delicious lunch with former Vertigo senior editor Joan Hilty. And as we spoke of graphic novels and art, and books, and creations that have yet to happen in the literary world, my head started to spin because of the sheer potential of the literary life.

Things are changing.

Let us embrace and intensify it.

Art and literature are mixing, and I’m not talking about graphic novels and comics. I’m talking about novels such as The Invention of Hugo Cabret, Wonderstruck, and now this incredible unique work of literature Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children which utilizes old photographs throughout the book.

There’s not much of a point to this post except to say this:

OPEN YOUR EYES. UNFETTER YOUR MIND. LOOSEN YOUR IMAGINATION. CAPTURE YOUR CREATIVITY, HARNESS IT, PERFECT IT, THEN UNLEASH IT ON THE WORLD!

There is so much uncharted territory. DO NOT for one second believe that because this territory is uncharted that it is not meant to be explored.

In fact, quite the opposite.

Go there.

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” – Howard Thurman

5 thoughts on “The world needs people who’ve come alive!

  1. I have a love for art and the written word that knows no bounds and it is such a joy to see THIS post!

    “Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” – Howard Thurman

    WORD. I believe I’ve done that and I join you and the others in calling out those who will do the same!

    On my blog I dedicate a section to art or arte and this topic of discussion must be made known throughout the industry! I see the train a comin’!

Leave a Reply

