Why Wuthering Heights inspires me.

Love is often far too glorified. Or perhaps a more appropriate way of phrasing it: We don’t often vilify true and everlasting love… When maybe we should.

When I first read Wuthering Heights in an english class over 10 years ago, I thought to myself, “this is true gothic romance. This is macabre love.” I was drawn to the concept that love has enough strength to absolutely decimate people. Just totally crush them to bits. And this idea has been a huge influence on my concept of romance ever since. It’s quite hard for me to understand what a pure romance novel or film is, because I often think of true love as ruining people.

Why would this inspire me?

It inspires me to work on creating complex situations and complex people. For example: Heathcliff repeatedly bashes his head against a tree after losing Catherine. He BASHES his head into a tree. So many complex emotions are given to us in this chapter alone. He has so many sides to his personality. There are so many truths to the situation yet you try not to believe half of them.

This inspires me not only to create more complexities, but it inspires me to live a more detailed life. It inspires me to seek out people/situations/and things that will make me feel.

What inspires you to feel or create complex?

4 thoughts on “Why Wuthering Heights inspires me.

  1. I have tried to read Wuthering Heights no fewer than five times and I just can’t get through it. I think I don’t want to get through it because I don’t really like any of the characters. Now, Rebecca I love…also a dicey love story but love ultimately prevails. Whew.

  2. That’s a really good insight on Wuthering Heights! I was 10 when I first read Frankenstein, and I was so blown away by the complexity of the monster that it just forever influenced and changed the way I saw myself and other people. Up to this day, Frankenstein is still my all-time favorite book. I guess it inspired me to create complex whenever I write, to strive to make readers feel the same way I did when I read Frankenstein at a young age.

  3. I read “Wuthering Heights” about fifteen times throughout my teens. The destructive passions driving the lead characters intrigued me, leaving me breathless and despairing. Laurence Olivier in the role of Heathcliff and Merle Oberon as Catherine tore my heart to pieces.

Leave a Reply

