Learn to Love Doubt: Doubt Means There is Potential to be Great

“If I were to wish for anything, I should not wish for wealth and power, but for the passionate sense of the potential, for the eye which, ever young and ardent, sees the possible. Pleasure disappoints, possibility never.”

– Soren Kierkegaard

Peter Tyre

Writers. I want you to tattoo this quote on the inside of your eyelids. Brand it on your frontal lobe. Record it on a tape and play it while you sleep.

You have chosen a difficult path. A path full of a lot of “No Thank You, but Thank You Anyway” and a lot less full of “Yes Please, and Thank You!”

You wonder, is this good? Will people like it? Will they like me? Am I spot on? Have I missed the mark? But you know what it so lovely about all of those doubts? The possibility that lies behind them.

Every morning, we wake up to a potential world full of “Nos” …people are waiting to stomp us flat. But with every no, there is a yes lying in wait. That yes may not present itself for months, years, maybe never. But it’s there somewhere. And that chance is worth everything that we do every day.

You may get your “Yes” day. And it will be a well deserved day. A day to celebrate. But I guarantee you, that you’ll look forward to another “No” so that you can seek out those hidden possibilities that a “Yes” can’t give you.

4 thoughts on “Learn to Love Doubt: Doubt Means There is Potential to be Great

  1. This is the best post, Bree, and it’s so true. Publishing is a difficult path, which I learned long ago. In fact, life in general can be difficult. You never know what fate will through your way. And yes, I have my doubts everyday – especially when all is quiet on the western front. But I still hope for that one day, that one ‘Yes,’ and that is what keeps me marching on.
    Thanks,
    Kelsey

    PS – I always found that painting fascinating! Then again, I was raised with the song ‘Eye in the Sky.’

  2. And that quote might sum up why he broke it off with that girl he loved, forsaking the potential relationship for the actuality of it. I wish I could remember her name.

Leave a Reply

